Will my Phantom pick up from where it left off?

The majority of our Phantoms will pick up from where they left off from one launch to the next. This means that if you set your Phantom to launch automatically, it won't repeat the same actions every time. However, if you find that it is, don't worry - here's how to change that.

 

 

Each time your Phantom launches, it will summarize the actions it took in its results files. These results can be found on the Phantom's console page. Your Phantom uses these files to know where it finished during its last launch, and therefore where to begin next time. The technical term for these results files are "folders." If the folder is renamed or deleted, the Phantom will start its actions from the beginning again.

You can control this using the following steps:

  1. Folder management
  2. Renaming results files
  3. Rate limits

 

Folder management

Go to the "Settings" step of your Phantom's setup. Click on the three little dots in the top right to "Show advanced settings":

Screenshot_2022-06-22_at_12.30.59.png

Scroll down to "Folder management." Here you will find three options:

Screenshot_2022-06-22_at_12.29.36.png
  • "Mix new and old files" is the default setting. With each launch, the Phantom will pick up from where it left off during the last launch to perform its task, then overwrite the old files, adding the new data. At the end of a series of launches you will have one large file containing all of your data.
  • "Create a new folder per launch" means that new files will be created without the old ones being touched. However, this also means that as your Phantom is not referring to existing files it will start processing information from the beginning again each time it launches.
  • "Delete all previous files at launch" will work the same way, reprocessing the same information, but will delete the old files and replace them with the new each time it launches.

 

Renaming results files

You'll encounter the same thing when you edit the "Give a name to your result file" field in the Phantom's setup:

Screenshot_2022-06-22_at_12.30.05.png

Newly named files will be treated as starting afresh by the Phantom, and it will not refer to pre-existing files to create them. So again, input information will be processed from the start again.

 

Rate limits

If this issue isn't coming from your files, it is possible that it's due to a rate limit from the social network you're automating. Perhaps your Phantom is re-attempting actions that were blocked during the previous launch and are therefore not complete. If this is the case, it might be helpful to "View log ->" for the particular launch on the console page to find out more:

Screenshot_2022-06-22_at_12.33.22.png

If you need help understanding your logs, please contact Support :)

 

If you think this article does not address your issue, please contact Support directly. We are continuously improving, so your feedback means the world to us!

Was this article helpful?
14 out of 27 found this helpful