Will my Phantom pick up from where it left off?

The majority of our Phantoms will pick up from where they left off from one launch to the next. This means that if you set your Phantom to launch automatically, it won't repeat the same actions every time. However, if you find that it is, don't worry - here's how to change that.

 

 

Each time your Phantom launches, it will summarize the actions it took in its results files. These results can be found on the Phantom's console page. Your Phantom uses these files to know where it finished during its last launch, and therefore where to begin next time. The technical term for these results files are "folders." If the folder is renamed or deleted, the Phantom will start its actions from the beginning again.

You can control this using the following steps:

  1. Folder management
  2. Renaming results files
  3. Rate limits

 

1. Folder management

Go to the "Advanced Settings" step of your Phantom's setup:

Advanced settings - left sidebar.png

Navigate to the "Folder management tab" Here you will find three options:

Advanced settings popup - file management combine files.png
  • "Combine files" is the default setting. With each launch, the Phantom will pick up from where it left off during the last launch to perform its task, adding the new data. At the end of a series of launches, you will have one large file containing all of your data.
  • "Create new files" means that new files will be created without the old ones being touched. However, this also means that your Phantom is not referring to existing files, as it will start processing information from the beginning again each time it launches.
  • "Delete previous files" will work the same way, reprocessing the same information, but will delete the old files and replace them with the new each time it launches. Remember to download your data if you choose this option.

 

2. Renaming results files

You may encounter the "Results file settings" option where you can manually (re)name your results file. Renaming the file name will cause the Phantom to start reprocessing the given input from the start:

Behaviour Results file settings Name.png

Newly named files will be treated as starting afresh by the Phantom, and it will not refer to pre-existing files to create them. So again, input information will be processed from the start again.

 

3. Rate limits

If this issue isn't coming from your files, it is possible that it's due to a rate limit from the social network you're automating. Perhaps your Phantom is re-attempting actions that were blocked during the previous launch and are therefore not complete. If this is the case, it might be helpful to "View log ->" for the particular launch on the console page to find out more:

Screenshot_2022-06-22_at_12.33.22.png

If you need help understanding your logs, please contact Support :)

 

If you think this article does not address your issue, please contact Support directly. We are continuously improving, so your feedback means the world to us!

Was this article helpful?
15 out of 29 found this helpful